Parkinson Social Network

Staying Connected Newsletter May 12-18, 2020

At Parkinson Social Network (PSN), we are committed to sharing with you events that educate, support, and enrich your life as you practice safe social distancing at home during this pandemic.

Highlights this Week:

Medical Equipment Available

Community member Lyn has a medical bed and sit-down walker available if you need one. Please contact her by email if you are interested.

Online Events Upcoming this Week:

Wednesday May 13, 2020

1:00 pm EDT (10:00 am Pacific, 11am Mountain 12:00 pm Central) – Sleep and Living Well with Parkinson’s with Dr. Ronald Postuma – Davis Phinney Foundation

Thursday May 14,2020

12pm EDT (11am CDT) – Yoga for PD: Standing Steady and Strong – FREE 4 week series from American Parkinson Disease Association – registration required.

Friday May 15, 2020

11 AM-12 PM EDT – Dance for PD by Mark Morris Dance Group – Click here to join online.

Saturday – May 16, 2020

12 pm – 3:30 pm eastern (11 am – 2:30 pm central, 10 am – 1:30 pm mountain, 9 am – 12:30 pm pacific) – 2020 Care Partner Summit | Cumbre Para Cuidadores – Registration is required for this virtual event – Parkinson’s Foundation

Tuesday May 19, 2020

7 pm EDT – Parkinson’s Zoom Support Group with Charlie Voelmle with speaker Bobby Hand, Physical Therapist – Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87653070034?pwd=YmhwdnowNDhxck10MkVmUGsyeVlCZz09

Meeting ID: 876 5307 0034
Password: 1DnCJG

We are Here to Listen!

During this time when we are unable to gather and chat in person, we at PSN would still like to hear from you about how you are coping. Send us email to board@parkinsonsocialnetwork.org or call us at 571-286-5000.

Local, State, and Federal Resources

Here are local, state and federal resources online during this Coronavirus emergency:


Disclaimer:

The inclusion of announcements, logos or website links included in this newsletter or on our website does not constitute an endorsement by the Parkinson Social Network of the products, programs or services.

If you found a benefit from this newsletter, would you consider supporting our mission to educate, advocate, support and enrich the lives of those touched by Parkinson’s disease?


Copyright © 2020 Parkinson Social Network, All rights reserved.
You are receiving this email because you requested to be included, sent an RSVP or attended one of our Parkinson Social Network events.

Our phone number is: 571-286-5000
Our mailing address is:

Parkinson Social Network
PO Box 1276
McLean, VA 22101-1276

Parkinson Social Network is a 501(c)(3) Nonprofit Organization

Staying Connected newsletter – April 22 – April 28

Parkinson Social Network (PSN) is scanning our Parkinson’s community to find online events you can attend while practicing safe social distancing at home. You will find:


Share Your Thoughts:
Would you participate in an online cafe?

In our effort to help our community, we want to know what your interest is in participating in an online cafe event? Share your thoughts by clicking this link to complete our online survey. The survey is only 5 questions and takes just a minute.

Thank you for your time! 


Events Online This Week

Wednesday – April 22, 2020

12 p.m. EDT: The Doctor Will See You Now…Virtually – Click here to registerMichael J Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research

1pm – APDA Let’s Keep Moving Fitness Series –
Setting up for Success at Home: Creating an Exercise-Friendly Area with Teresa Baker, PT, DPT- Click here to register

12:00 pm Mountain time (11:00 am Pacific, 1:00 pm Central, 2:00 pm Eastern) – Davis Phinney Foundation Presents A Virtual DBS Forum – click here for more information and to register.

Thursday – April 23, 2020

1:30pm PDT (4:30pm EDT) NEW Free Online Art Class for Parkinson’s – Every Tuesday & Thursday thru April 28. Online at Facebook – more information and register here. Northwest Parkinson’s Foundation (NWPF)

5pm EDT – WPC Parkinson’s Sing-A-Long– MAKE SURE TO REGISTER BY THURSDAY APRIL 23 AT 12PM EST TO JOIN US – World Parkinson Congress (WPC)

Friday – April 24, 2020

11 AM-12 PM EDT – Dance for PD by Mark Morris Dance Group – Click here to join online.

1-2 PM EDT Sing for PD by Mark Morris Dance Group – Click here to join online.

Saturday – April 25, 2020

11 AM-12 PM EDT – Pilates for PD by Mark Morris Dance Group – https://danceforparkinsons.org/resources/dance-at-home

Sunday – April 26, 2020

4pm EDT – Yoga Nidra (relaxed guided meditation) with Carolyn Bagdoyanvia Zoom (no video), Meeting ID: 438 918 072, Password required: 392699 – Visit this webpage if you would like to call in via phone and additional information.

Tuesday – April 28, 2020

3-4PM EDT/ 12-1PM PDT Virtual Carepartner Series – Medication Management and the Role of the Care Partner – This session is for everyone, from the very involved to the totally hands off. World Parkinson Coalition (WPC). Click here to register.


We Want to Hear from You!

During this time when we are unable to gather and chat in person, we at PSN would still like to hear from you about how you are coping.

If you have something to share or if you would just like to have someone call you, you can send email to board@parkinsonsocialnetwork.org and all of our board members will receive the email. You can also call us at 571-286-5000.  If we are unable to answer your call personally, please leave us a message and your call will be returned.

Local, State, and Federal Resources

Here are local, state and federal resources online during this Coronavirus emergency:

Disclaimer:
The inclusion of announcements, logos or website links included in this newsletter or on our website does not constitute an endorsement by the Parkinson Social Network of the products, programs or services.

Copyright © 2020 Parkinson Social Network, All rights reserved.
You are receiving this email because you requested to be included, sent an RSVP or attended one of our Parkinson Social Network events.

Our phone number is: 571-286-5000
Our mailing address is:

Parkinson Social Network
PO Box 1276
McLean, VA 22101-1276
Add us to your address book

Parkinson Social Network is a 501(c)(3) Nonprofit Organization

%d bloggers like this: